Prayer Tip: Rest for the Soul

Psalm 131:2  Surely I have composed and quieted my soul; Like a weaned child rests against his mother, My soul is like a weaned child within me.

It doesn’t seem to take much to get my soul disquieted.  Sometimes it’s a combination of little things that causes more unrest (anxiety) than a ‘big’ thing.  Why is that?

Maybe a little more so for men…, we like to think we’re grown up and are capable and sufficient in ourselves.  We don’t like the image of being like a small child who ‘rests against his mother’.  But Jesus said,

Matthew 18:3-4  I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. 4 Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

Possibly we mistakenly think that by our anxious attention we can somehow control the situation and ‘make things happen’ or not happen and avoid undesirables.

How do I ‘compose and quiet my soul?’  The Psalmist says (131:1-3) to humble myself, don’t pursue matters that are beyond me (as determined by God), and hope in the Lord.  I want to consistently run to Jesus, climb into His lap, put my head on His chest and listen to His heartbeat.  (There is room for everyone.)

Keep gazing at Jesus.  In Him we can say with confidence, “It is well with my soul.” and truly be at rest.

For more information on the Grace Bible Church Prayer Team, visit begrace.org/prayer.
For more information about Grace Bible Church, visit begrace.org

One thought on “Prayer Tip: Rest for the Soul

  1. Thank you Lauris! I always feel the need to “fix things” and sometimes our Lord just wants me to Be still and know that He is God. I needed to be reminded of this today, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

