Now What do We Pray for?

Voters in America have decided we need to continue the direction our nation has taken the last 4 years with double the intensity. Using the Bible as a prayer book, what are some of the answers I can pray for myself, others, and our nation? Are there some scriptural guidelines for requests?

Here are some suggestions to launch a search:

What is God’s will in the situation I’m/we’re in and the needs I/we have?

I can actually start by asking Him what His will is for this need and what I should pray. Then LISTEN and journal to remember.

I John 5:14,15 And this is the confidence which we have before Him, that, if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. 15 And if we know that He hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests which we have asked from Him.

Ask God to give me/you specific scripture to pray and then journal what He says through Quiet Times and other ways.

What would bring God the most glory?

Matt. 6:33 But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added to you.

Another approach to understanding what I should pray is to think of what would make my joy really full and complete in this situation. He wants me to be joy- full.

John 16:24 Until now you have asked for nothing in My name; ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be made full.

If you’ll let me know some of the answers you hear from God, I’ll try to share them as an encouragement to others.

NEXT WEEK, I’ll share some of what I think God is saying to me/us.


For more information on the Grace Bible Church Prayer Team, visit begrace.org/ministries/prayer-team.

For more information about Grace Bible Church, visit begrace.org.

Leave a comment